2017 RTA Award Winners

Team Captain of the Year: Jennifer Wermig

Given to an area captain, voted by their peers and teammates to be a hardworking, organized and devoted captains.  “Jen is the reason why many of our RRC women engage in the club, USTA teams, and improve their game. She is tireless at finding new members to tennis (myself included) and bringing them together to play. She is cheerful, tireless, and supportive at all times. She is focused on FUN and TEAMWORK and helping each other to get better. She is truly the best captain in the Triangle,”June Boda.

What began shortly after moving to Raleigh in 2014, Jennifer was immediately drawn to the social aspect of tennis.  Nancy King, Millbrook coach, helped Jennifer onto a Singles team in Fall 2015; and Jennifer assisted the Captain. When the captain took some time off of tennis she stepped in to keep the team together, and so began her first team, the Sisterhood of the Traveling Points.  Jennifer has continued to run teams out of the City; and last Fall undertook developing the first 2.5 team the Raleigh Racquet Club has seen in nearly a decade!

Jennifer says, “The most thing I enjoy most about tennis is  the players! I have met the most amazing people while playing this sport and find it incredibly rewarding to watch each of them grow as individuals and on the court.  As a Captain, I love pairing new people together on the court and watching as the friendship grows and the partnership develops.  I am truly fortunate that they have the confidence in me and allow me to lead them.” 

Jennifer was also named a USTA North Carolina Tennis Star in 2017

Pro of the Year: Paul-Henri Arrigoni

Paul-Henri is Director of Adult Tennis at the Raleigh Racquet Club.  Paul-Henri, a Raleigh Pro League player, was ranked in the top 10 in France and beat current top 100 ATP players as a junior. He played for Lander University and reached the #5 spot in the nation in singles and the #25 spot in in the NCAA Division 2.  Paul-Henri is a loved and respected coach, known for challenging his players all while making it fun. "He loves tennis and he loves teaching kids and adults. He wants everyone to play well and play better than when they stepped on the court for a lesson or a match. He teaches through knowledge and humility"

Volunteer of the Year: Dempsey Farmer

The volunteer of the year is given to someone in our community that exemplifies extraordinary efforts in dedicating their time to Raleigh Tennis Association events and programs.  Dempsey Farmer coaches and organizes the Try Tennis program at Ebony Racquet Club/Biltmore Estates. He maintained the large session of 45 and kept them in a follow up Try Tennis Grad session. They held a new player tournament to end the season and they formed a 3.0 team in the RTA Winter League. Dempsey coordinated and coached the entire Try Tennis Program. 

Sportsmanship Awards: This award is given to a league player in our community that exemplifies outstanding sportsmanship and integrity by respecting both your teammates as well as your opponents on and off the court. You have been voted to receive this award by our Local League coordinators, based on positive acknowledgement from other players and team captains throughout the year.

Will Edwards

​Will began playing tennis in 2015 and was introduced to league tennis when he was Invited by a club member (Jonathan Jenkins) to a tennis clinic. He enjoys the camaraderie of tennis

Tracy Crisp
Tracy started playing tennis when she was on vacation in Cashiers the Summer of 2011.  She considered herself a beginner (“This is the tennis racquet and this is how you hold it”. etc...). When she returned from vacation, she began to taking lessons at Seven Oaks and got started in leagues after learning the basic skills. Tennis pros at Seven Oaks encouraged her to play 2.5 USTA league tennis in a team format. She enjoys the fellowship on and off the court.  

"I think tennis bonds you and other players in a special way.  You are learning the game together, celebrating successes and learning from losses and constantly meeting new people along the way. Second, since I do not like to exercise, tennis holds me accountable in my fitness goals.  I am also inspired by those who have played and enjoyed tennis for decades proving it’s a lifelong sport"

Past RTA Community Awards

​2016 RTA "Wizard of Oz" John VanDeWater

2016 RTA Volunteer of the Year, Roger Winstead

​2016 Best Tennis Pro, Jon Janda, North Hills Club

2016 Best Team Captain Laura Brown

2015 RTA "Wizard of Oz" David Bell

2015 RTA Volunteer of the Year, Susan Shaw

2015 RTA Best Tennis Pro, Jay White, University Club

2015 RTA Best Team Captain Brittany Robinson

2015 RTA  LLC Sportsmanship Barbara Kelly

2014 RTA "Wizard of Oz" Shane Wells

2014 RTA Volunteer of the Year, Pam Boyden

2014 Best Tennis Pro, Paul Goode, RRC

2014 Best Team Captain, Carol Kissell

2013 RTA "Wizard of Oz" Tim Wilkins

2013 RTA  Volunteer of the Year, Pam Priddy

2013 LLC Sportsmanship Award, Tammy Crump

2013 Best Tennis Pro, Bennett Bailey, MEX

2013 Best Tennis Captain, Cathy Couch