2020 RTA Awards

Each year, the RTA recognizes special people in the Raleigh tennis community that make a difference! We're now accepting nominations in these categories: Pro of the Year, Team Captain of the Year, and Team Player of the Year until January 15, 2021. You do not have to submit nominations for each category.

Winners will be announced on our website and on our social media channels on the week of January 25, 2021.

2019 RTA Awards

The RTA would like to recognize special people in our Raleigh community that make a difference!  

Carlos Garcia, 2019 Raleigh's Best Pro of the Year:

Congratulations to Carlos Garcia for being named Raleigh’s 2019 Best Pro of the Year. Carlos is the Academy Director at the The Raleigh Racquet Club. Raleigh Pro League player, Carlos was a top rated Junior in Tennessee and eventually played for the University of Tennessee, playing in the SEC Team Championship in 1986. Winner of the Oregon State Championships, National Level 2, Carlos has nationally ranked #3 in USTA Men’s 35’s, 40’s and 45’s singles. Impressively, he also is a member of the US Gordon Trophy & Sorlein Cub Team (USA vs. Canada) as well as a Member of the US Amigos Cup Team (USA vs Mexico). Coaching since 1987, Carlos is a beloved and respected coach in Raleigh, known for challenging players all while having a great sense of humor and a clever way of explaining things. As one of his players said, “There is no one quite like Carlos and we are enormously fortunate to have him here in Raleigh, North Carolina”. 

Allen Oliver, 2019 RTA's Best Team Captain of the Year: 

Congratulations to Allen Oliver on being named RTA's 2019 Best Team Captain of the Year! The award is given to an area captain, voted by their peers and teammates to be a hardworking, organized and devoted captain. Allen played High School tennis 1985 to 1989 at Military Boarding school, then did not pick up his racquet again until he moved to Raleigh in 2011. Allen was pleased to discover that "all good instruction comes back!" In 2012, he started captaining teams through Brier Creek Country Club. And in 2018, his team won Sectionals in Combo Doubles 40 & Over Men 6.5! Allen is motivated to captain by the friends he has made and looks forward to seeing them on the courts. "Allen is organized, energizing, and is the reason that we play USTA teams," said one of his teammates.

NC State Club Tennis (Tennis On Campus) 2019 Raleigh's Volunteer of the Year:

Congratulations to NC State Club Tennis Tennis on Campus Team for being named Raleigh's 2019 Volunteer of the Year! This award is given to a volunteer or volunteer group in our community that exemplifies extraordinary efforts in dedicating their time to Raleigh tennis programs and events. The Tennis On Campus Team has shown great commitment to the Try Tennis program on NC State campus; as well as outstanding volunteer efforts in Knightdale's Harper Park Grand Opening, Hispanic Outreach initiatives, Boys and Girls Club Festival, Y-Guides Camp Kanata, Raleigh Pro League, and other area-wide events. These efforts have been tremendous in growing the game in Raleigh. We are proud of the players as incredible young leaders in our community.

QueenE Hargrove, 2019 Raleigh's Player of the Year:

Congratulations to QueenE Hargrove for being named Raleigh’s 2019 Player of the Year! This award is given to a local player and voted by other players in the Raleigh area. This award is presented to a league player who demonstrates good sportsmanship, consistently plays on league teams, and encourages a positive play environment for their team. QueenE has played tennis for 45 years and has played in approximately 100 leagues throughout each season. “I can honestly say that tennis has been a life changer for me,” says QueenE. QueenE was a baseball player before evolving into a tennis player. The difference, she says, was that she could not raise her children on a baseball field as easily as she could on a Tennis court. QueenE is known for her “work ethic, loving heart, and of course her skills”. To QueenE, tennis has meant a strong connection to her community and family, “Tennis brings a camaraderie of so many wonderful people. All different ethnic groups, with so many different and wonderful personalities.”

Past RTA Community Awards

2018 RTA Best Team Captain,  Maggie Wittke

2018 RTA Best Tennis Pro, Meghan Coomes, Hasentree
2018 RTA Volunteer of the Year, Tanya SigRist
2018 Try Tennis Player of the Year, Magali Brigham

2017 RTA Best Team Captain, Jennifer Wermig

2017 RTA Best Pro of the Year, Paul-Henri Arrigoni, RRC

2017 RTA Volunteer of the Year, Dempsey Farmer

2017 RTA LLC Sportsmanship, Will Edwards

2017 RTA LLC Sportsmanship, Tracy Crisp


2016 RTA "Wizard of Oz" John VanDeWater

2016 RTA Volunteer of the Year, Roger Winstead

​2016 Best Tennis Pro, Jon Janda, North Hills Club

2016 Best Team Captain Laura Brown

2015 RTA "Wizard of Oz" David Bell

2015 RTA Volunteer of the Year, Susan Shaw

2015 RTA Best Tennis Pro, Jay White, University Club

2015 RTA Best Team Captain Brittany Robinson

2015 RTA  LLC Sportsmanship Barbara Kelly


2014 RTA "Wizard of Oz" Shane Wells

2014 RTA Volunteer of the Year, Pam Boyden

2014 Best Tennis Pro, Paul Goode, RRC

2014 Best Team Captain, Carol Kissell


2013 RTA "Wizard of Oz" Tim Wilkins

2013 RTA  Volunteer of the Year, Pam Priddy

2013 LLC Sportsmanship Award, Tammy Crump

2013 Best Tennis Pro, Bennett Bailey, MEX

2013 Best Tennis Captain, Cathy Couch

RTA Awards and Notable Achievements

2018 - Southern USTA LLC of the Year - Tracy Debnam

2018 - NC Tennis LLC of the Year - Tracy Debnam
2014 - NC Tennis, CTA of the year - Raleigh Tennis Association
2014 - Southern USTA, Marilyn Sherman Spirit Award - RTA Community Director Susan Flanagan
2014 - NCTennis Peggy Golden Spirit Award - RTA Community Director Susan Flanagan
2013 - NCTennis  Jr. Team Tennis Local League Coordinator of the Year - Ken Glanville & Lorraine Norris
2013 - NCTennis Volunteer of the Month for May - RTA Community Director Susan Flanagan
2011 - NCTennis Special Event of the Year - RTA's Adopt-A-Troop Care Package Packing Party
2009 - NCTennis Outstanding Parks & Rec Center - Milbrook Exchange Park
2008 - NCTennis Member Organization of the Year- Raleigh Tennis Association
2008 - USTA Tennis Welcome Center - Top 50 in the US
2008 - Southern USTA Jr Tournament of the Year - RTA Futures
2007 - NCTennis Member Organization of the Year - Raleigh Tennis Association
2007 - City of Raleigh's Outstanding Financial Contributor - Raleigh Tennis Association

Join our mailing list and never miss an update!

Let's Connect!

6325 Falls of Neuse Rd, Suite 35  Raleigh, NC 27615​